🐙 ChatGPT meets Pixar's 22 Rules of Storytelling

how to use AI to write more viral & profitable stories

Hey solopreneur,

I don’t know about you…

But nothing gives me worse nightmares than staring at a blinking cursor on a blank page.

Especially when you work in the content biz and need to be constantly writing stories to drive clicks and sales for the continued success of your business.

Luckily, we have the internet.

Which means we have AI AND decades of storytelling research from the world’s most iconic animation studio to draw inspiration from — Pixar.

I’ve found this combo to be the ultimate cure to my gnarly blank-page-writer’s-block-brain-farts.

Today, we’ll talk about how to use AI to apply Pixar’s famous “22 Rules of Storytelling” to your content ideas — so you never have to worry about brain farts ever again.

You will learn:

  • Why storytelling is the ultimate meta-skill in online business

  • Dozens of new angles you can write your stories from — that you never would’ve thought of before

  • How to make your storytelling more emotionally compelling to make your content content more viral

Let’s. Dive. In. 🤿

How I went from 0 to 300k profits in 7 months

9 months ago, the FTX scam stole my hard-earned money.

But through consistent content creation and the use of AI, I was able to get back on my feet again in record time.

That’s why I built my course, the AI Audience Accelerator.

It will teach you:

  • How to create a week's worth of content in 1 hour

  • How to create content that sounds like YOU

  • AI Systems that skyrocketed my growth

1880 people joined the course and their reviews are incredible.

Why storytelling is the ultimate ‘meta-skill’ in online business

If you're not using storytelling in your online business, you're missing out on a world of opportunity.

And I'm not talking about the kind of stories your German friend tells about their finally getting into a hyped Berlin techno club (Berghain wink wink).

I'm talking about the kind of storytelling that grabs your audience by the heartstrings and refuses to let go.

The kind that makes them feel like they're right there with you, hooked to every word, every tweet, every paragraph.

That feeling where the words just flow.

But here's the thing:

Most content creators get storytelling completely wrong.

They think it's just about sharing a few anecdotes or tossing in a clever metaphor here and there.

They don't realize that truly effective storytelling is an art form that requires strategy, skill, and frameworks.

So, why is storytelling so important for your online business? It's simple:
  • Stories create an emotional connection with your audience, building trust and loyalty like nothing else can

  • They make your content more memorable, increasing the likelihood that your message will stick with your audience long after they've scrolled past

  • Stories persuade and influence, making them a potent tool for driving conversions and sales

It's not just about what happened; it's about how you tell it.

And that's where most solopreneurs fall short:

  • They focus on the facts and forget about the feelings.

  • They prioritize the what and neglect the why.

And as a result, their stories fall flat, failing to connect with their audience in any meaningful way.

Let me give you an example with a bad Twitter thread hook:

I made $10k in a month with my online business.

Here's how I did it:

Sure, it's a result—but it's boring, lacks context, and fails to connect on an emotional level.

Now, here's an example of a good Twitter thread hook:

I’m 32.

Last year, I was dead broke, drowning in debt, and on the verge of giving up on my dreams.

Then I discovered the financial secret that turned my life around and helped me make $10k in just 30 days.

Here's how I did it (and how you can too):

Feel the difference?

The second example sparks curiosity and empathy—it makes you want to click and learn more about the journey behind the success.

Now, sparking these emotions in your stories isn’t always easy.

It takes time to master.

But fear not, my friend.

With a little background info from you, a little rule-book from Pixar, and a little intelligence from ChatGPT, you can become a master storyteller in your own right.

And when you do, you'll watch your online business soar to new heights, leaving your competition in the dust.

The “Pixar-22 Storyteller” Prompt

This prompt helps you write the most compelling story possible to drive more views, likes, and/or sales for your online business:

I need your help crafting a compelling story for my business.

Here's some background context on me and my online business:

[INSERT CONTEXT]

The purpose of the story is to [INSERT END GOAL OF THE STORY].

Here's the rough high-level of the story:

[INSERT STORY CONTEXT].

I want you to give me examples of how to apply each of these rules to my story, following Pixar's 22 Rules of Storytelling:

You admire a character for trying more than for their successes.
You gotta keep in mind what’s interesting to you as an audience, not what’s fun to do as a writer. They can be very different.
Trying for theme is important, but you won’t see what the story is actually about til you’re at the end of it. Now rewrite.
Once upon a time there was ___. Every day, ___. One day ___. Because of that, ___. Because of that, ___. Until finally ___.
Simplify. Focus. Combine characters. Hop over detours. You’ll feel like you’re losing valuable stuff but it sets you free.
What is your character good at, comfortable with? Throw the polar opposite at them. Challenge them. How do they deal?
Come up with your ending before you figure out your middle. Seriously. Endings are hard, get yours working up front.
Finish your story, let go even if it’s not perfect. In an ideal world you have both, but move on. Do better next time.
When you’re stuck, make a list of what WOULDN’T happen next. Lots of times the material to get you unstuck will show up.
Pull apart the stories you like. What you like in them is a part of you; you’ve got to recognize it before you can use it.
Putting it on paper lets you start fixing it. If it stays in your head, a perfect idea, you’ll never share it with anyone.
Discount the 1st thing that comes to mind. And the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th – get the obvious out of the way. Surprise yourself.
Give your characters opinions. Passive/malleable might seem likable to you as you write, but it’s poison to the audience.
Why must you tell THIS story?
What’s the belief burning within you that your story feeds off of? That’s the heart of it.
If you were your character, in this situation, how would you feel? Honesty lends credibility to unbelievable situations.
What are the stakes? Give us reason to root for the character. What happens if they don’t succeed? Stack the odds against.
No work is ever wasted. If it’s not working, let go and move on – it’ll come back around to be useful later.
You have to know yourself: the difference between doing your best & fussing. Story is testing, not refining.
Coincidences to get characters into trouble are great; coincidences to get them out of it are cheating.
Exercise: take the building blocks of a movie you dislike. How d’you rearrange them into what you DO like?
You gotta identify with your situation/characters, can’t just write ‘cool’. What would make YOU act that way?
What’s the essence of your story? Most economical telling of it? If you know that, you can build out from there.
HOW TO USE THE ‘Pixar-22 Storyteller’ PROMPT:
  1. Fill in the [INSERT CONTEXT] placeholder with context about yourself and who you are. (If you’ve done the AI Audience Accelerator, write /context to use your pre-written context)

    Example: “I am a solopreneur and I write a publication called "The AI Solopreneur". I post content on Twitter, have a community full of AI-driven solopreneurs, and publish a newsletter twice a week. All my content is made specifically about how Solopreneurs can use AI to streamline their business, work faster, and make more money. Most commonly, I talk about different ways to use ChatGPT, but I also introduce solopreneurs to other helpful AI tools and workflows in them. The goal of my content is to attract as many AI-interested solopreneurs (or aspiring solopreneurs) as possible.”

  2. Fill in the [INSERT END GOAL OF THE STORY] with the goal you’re trying to achieve with your story. Include the medium, such as Twitter, LinkedIn, or a landing page.

    Example: “Go viral on Twitter” OR “Drive sales on a landing page for a digital product about how to grow an audience with AI”

  3. Fill in [INSERT STORY CONTEXT] with a brief background overview of the elements of your story.

    Example: "My name is Ole. I lost 90%+ of my net worth in the FTX crypto scam. But a week after the scam, ChatGPT came out. I became interested in AI as a result, and it gave me hope. So I started learning about AI and sharing my thoughts on Twitter under a brand called "The AI Solopreneur." A year later, I've amassed 150k+ followers and 30k+ email subscribers, while earning over $400K+ in revenue from selling digital products about how to grow and monetize a social media audience."

Here’s an example of it’s output:

If this doesn’t give fuel you with some creative juices, I don’t know what will…

WRAP UP

WHAT YOU LEARNED TODAY
  • Why storytelling is the ultimate meta-skill for solopreneurs

  • What most writers online get wrong about storytelling

  • How to leverage ChatGPT and Pixar’s 22 Rules of Storytelling to 10x your own content quality

95% of creators burnout from creative exhaustion.

If you consistently use this prompt, I think you greatly increase your odds of making that top 5%.

Can’t wait to see what stories you whip up with it!

And as always, if you made it this far…

I’m packing my bags for Las Vegas right now, where I’ll be a speaker at Imagine AI.

Luckily, my new passport arrived just in time.

If you want to be at the forefront of AI, come by and say hi :)

I’ll be in Vegas from the 24th to the 30th, and in New York from the 30th of March until the 7th of April.

Please send me your best food recommondation.

Keep diving,

Ole

P.S.

Over 230 people joined the AI Course Creator last week. Missed it?

P.P.S

Don't have an audience to sell to yet?

No problem.

My first course — The AI Audience Accelerator — will help you leverage AI to go viral with ease and create 1 week of content in 1 hour.

It's the ultimate tool for accelerating your X and LinkedIn audience growth faster than the competition.

(I used these AI systems to go from 0 to 100K X followers in 65 days).

What did you think about today's edition?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.