• The AI Solopreneur
  • Posts
  • šŸ™ How to hack your brain and make better decisions (in 5 minutes)

šŸ™ How to hack your brain and make better decisions (in 5 minutes)

make rational choices free from bias

Read time: 4 minutes | Sponsor this newsletter

Greet from the deep,

Decisions, decisions decisions...

My brain feels like a drunken sailor steering a ship through rocky waters whenever I've got an important choice to make!

As solopreneurs, weā€™re the only person deciding over our business.

We donā€™t only have to make more choicesā€¦

Our choices also carry extra weight!

Worse to come, without a feedback partner, mental traps trip us up more often than we'd like to admit:

  • Confirmation bias has us seeking information that fits what we already believe

  • Loss aversion makes us overly cautious and risk-averse

  • Analysis paralysis leaves us frozen, unable to pick at all

Rather than leave decisions to chance, what if you could leverage AI to explore more options from an objective, non-biased standpoint?

That's exactly what we'll cover today.

You'll learn:

  • The 3 main cognitive that are sabotaging your decisions (and how to avoid them)

  • How AI can effortlessly broaden your perspective beyond limited human blindspots

  • How to make more rational decisions and outsmart your opponents with the Don Corleone Decider prompt

Letā€™s d-d-d-d-dive in! šŸ¤æ

Itā€™s time to delegate that work to AI. guidde is a GPT-powered tool that helps you explain the most complex tasks in seconds with AI-generated documentation.

  • Turn boring documentation into stunning visual guides

  • Save valuable time by creating video documentation 11x faster

  • Share or embed your guide anywhere for your team to see

Simply click capture on our browser extension and the app will automatically generate step-by-step video guides complete with visuals, voiceover and call to actions.

The 3 main cognitive that are sabotaging your decisions (and how to avoid them)

The number 1 reason why humans make poor decisions is because emotions keep them from seeing the real picture.

Thatā€™s why, in this edition, weā€™ll use AI to avoid cognitive biases and make better, more consistent decisions.

Here are 3 of the main cognitive biases to look out for:

Cognitive Bias 1: Confirmation Bias

We unconsciously seek out information that confirms our preexisting beliefs and ignore contradictory data.

If youā€™re only counting yellow cars, youā€™re not noticing 99% whatā€™s going on with the remaining cars.

Cognitive Bias 2: Sunk Cost Fallacy

This bias is why itā€™s so hard to quit a project before its finished.

We justify increased investment in a decision despite new evidence suggesting we should change course.

Cognitive Bias 3: Anchoring Bias

The first piece of information you hear sets the context.

This is especially important in negotiations, where itā€™s a common strategy to make an exaggerated position to gain ground.

Awareness alone isnā€™t enough to avoid psychological biases, because they by their nature are subconscious.

However, we can use AI to call these biases out and make better decisionsā€¦

How AI can effortlessly broaden your perspective beyond limited human blindspots

As we just discoveredā€¦

AIā€™s strength in decision making can be summed up in one word:

Rationality.

Having been a crypto trader for 7+ years, I know we humans are more like apes than we want to admit:

Our brains are wired for efficiency and survival, not complex choice analysis.

Mental shortcuts and biases frequently sabotage our ability to decide rationally.

Donā€™t believe me?

Just look at crypto meme coins.

Some coins have no intrinsic value, yet have increased 1000%+ just because of some tweet by Elon Musk.

Our monkey brain is so hardwired for survival that it dilutes our judgement, causing you to make costly mistakes.

AI is powerful for decision making because it doesnā€™t care about how you feel.

It has no emotions.

With human wisdom and external AI capability combined, we can transcend the natural limitations of our brains.

Letā€™s investigate how:

How to make more rational decisions and outsmart your opponents with the Don Corleone Decider prompt

This prompt is a tribute to one of the best decision makers ever:

Don Corleone from The Godfather

He built a family mafia empire using his sound judgement (and offers people cannot refuse)

This prompt helps you to analyze decisions from a rational perspective and avoid biases:

I want you to act as my advisor, Don Corleone, to help me make an important decision.

[INSERT CONTEXT]

I am trying to decide between [DECISION OPTIONS].

Ultimately, I am optimizing my decision for [WHAT YOU ARE OPTIMIZING FOR].

Don Corleone, please analyze each option strictly through the lens of achieving my stated optimization goal. Identify any cognitive biases I may be falling victim to unconsciously, such as confirmation bias, loss aversion, or overconfidence. Provide a reasoned, data-driven suggestion for which option best aligns with my goals without emotional distortion. Explain your rationale clearly. Remember, as my trusted advisor, check my blindspots and guide me to the most rational outcome.

Provide your analysis in a direct yet polite manner as Don Corleone would. Focus on logical arguments backed by facts.
HOW TO USE THE DON CORLEONE DECIDER PROMPT:
  1. Fill in the [INSERT CONTEXT] placeholder with context about yourself and who you are. (If youā€™ve done the AI Audience Accelerator, write /context to use your pre-written context)

    Tip: Providing robust context is critical for Don Corleone to give useful advice tailored to your unique situation. Explain key details like your role, industry, business mission, past decisions etc.

    Example:

    ā€œI am a solopreneur and I write a publication called "The AI Solopreneur". I post content on Twitter, have a community full of AI-driven solopreneurs, and publish a newsletter twice a week. All my content is made specifically about how Solopreneurs can use AI to streamline their business, work faster, and make more money. Most commonly, I talk about different ways to use ChatGPT, but I also introduce solopreneurs to other helpful AI tools and workflows in them. The goal of my content is to attract as many AI-interested solopreneurs (or aspiring solopreneurs) as possible. I want to be the world's best resource for them. I don't know how to code, but I'm fairly skilled at marketing, writing, and investing. In my past, I was a music ghost producer, cryptocurrency investor, and I also took many educational resources to learn about skills related to solopreneurship. I am a big proponent of psychedelics and have positive experiences with them. I don't take myself too seriously. ā€œ

  2. Clearly lay out the distinct choices on the table so Don Corleone can weigh them side-by-side.

    Example:

    "I am trying to decide whether to focus my content mostly on AI writing assistance or shift more attention to AI art generation. My options are either keep my current writing-focused strategy or reallocate time and resources to cover art more."

  3. Fill in the [WHAT YOU ARE OPTIMIZING FOR] placeholder with what you are optimizing the decision for.

    Define 1-2 key metrics/goals the decision should align with like profitability, sustainability, growth etc. Don Corleone will check options against these.

    Example:

    "Ultimately, I am optimizing my decision for maximizing audience reach and engagement within the solopreneur niche."

Hereā€™s an example of itā€™s output about how to balance AI writing content and artistic AI content.

I like how it told me to f*ck my own opinion and just try both and let the data decide:

WRAP UP

WHAT YOU LEARNED TODAY
  • The 3 main cognitive that are sabotaging your decisions (and how to avoid them)

  • How AI can effortlessly broaden your perspective beyond limited human blindspots

  • How to make more rational decisions and outsmart your opponents with the Don Corleone Decider prompt

Iā€™m on my 5th day of another round of good olā€™ Covid.

The last time Iā€™ve tasted a flavor was in 2023.

Thatā€™s the worst part for a foodie like me.

My only hope:

Drinking 10l of tea per day and becoming the AI Gingerpreneur.

Keep diving,

Ole

What did you think about today's edition?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

P.S.

I made over $300,000 in 150 days selling my online course. Iā€™m now creating a course on how to use AI to build and sell a digital product in record time (without being an expert or paying 10k to consultants)

Donā€™t have an audience yet to sell to?

No problem, my last course will help you create 1 weekā€™s worth of content

in 1 hour using AI and grow your audience.