• The AI Solopreneur
  • Posts
  • 🐙 How to Start With Why like Simon Sinek & Create a "Why" that Attracts Customers

🐙 How to Start With Why like Simon Sinek & Create a "Why" that Attracts Customers

written by a founder who 10x'd his revenue by clarifying his "why"

Read time: 5.152 minutes

Solopreneur,

Ever wondered why some solopreneurs seem to magnetically attract success, while others struggle to get their message across?

There’s a simple reason why two people can do the same thing and yet get widely different outcomes.

The answer often lies not in what they do, but in why they do it.

I learned this the hard way.

Back in 2022, I’d invested $5,000+ into content coaching and was trying to get my socials off the ground.

I did everything the fastest-growing creators did… but it didn’t work for me.

You may feel the same way right now.

It wasn’t until months after founding the AI Solopreneur in 2023 that I realized:

All this time, a simple truth had kept me from growing a brand:

It's not about what you do, but why you do it.

When it clicked, my revenue went brrrrrrrrr.

Take my first course, the AI Audience Accelerator, as an example:

My “why” was that creators shouldn’t have to spend 15 hours a week to create content that fails, because I’d done that myself (and it sucked).

That “why” resonated so strongly with people that the course brought in 10x the revenue I expected.

Today, I want to help you unlock your why.

We’ll cover:

  • Why Starting With "Why" Unlocks Exponential Growth

  • How to discover your why in 5 Minutes with the D.R.E.A.M Framework

  • How to find your “Why”, clarify your business, and get more customers with WhyGPT

Let’s d-d-d-d-dive in! 🤿

9 months ago, the FTX scam stole my hard-earned money.

But through consistent content creation and the use of AI, I was able to get back on my feet again in record time.

That’s why I built my course, the AI Audience Accelerator.

It will teach you:

  • How to create a week's worth of content in 1 hour

  • How to create content that sounds like YOU

  • AI Systems that skyrocketed my growth

1820 people joined the course and their reviews are incredible.

Why Starting With "Why" Unlocks Exponential Growth

Big facts: if you wanna blow up your biz, you gotta nail your why.

Simon Sinek is the guy to identify your “Why”. His book “Start with Why” sold over 1 million copies and his Youtube video on the same thing got 11 million views.

The idea is simple:

Inspire first by starting with why.

In other words, communicate the purpose, cause or belief that drives you before explaining the what or how.

If you’re a tactical person like me, this may sound like philosophical BS at first.

But it makes all the difference in sales and positioning:

People may forget your offer, but they won't forget what you stand for.

For example, who would you rather buy from:

a) No Why: An automation agency that only does automation because they want to earn money

Or

b) Compelling Why: “I founded my automation agency because I saw so many inefficiencies in the bureaucracy of German tax filings that I wanted to alleviate Germans from this painful experience once and for all. That’s why I help German startups to automate their tax filing”

Jokes aside…

…the second statement makes you feel like the agency does this because of a bigger purpose than money (which ironically helps them make more money).

The why is the story, the explanation, the context for everything you do.

It’s the one thing that’ll stick with people.

You know you’ve struck the right cord when people start to tell you they love you because they believe in your cause.

How to discover your why in 5 Minutes with the D.R.E.A.M Framework

The nr. 1 reason why most businesses don’t benefit from the “Start with Why” approach is that they can’t define their “Why”.

Don’t be one of them.

Assume your why is within you already - and follow my DREAM framework to get it on paper:

D - Discover Your Passions

Your passion holds clues about your purpose.

Ask yourself:

  • What do I love working on so much that I’d have no problem spending a Sunday afternoon with it?

For example:

My passion is helping individuals leverage AI to grow businesses with less time and effort. Teaching people excites me.

R - Reveal Your Talents

Your talents point to the unique value you can provide.

Consider:

  • What skills do your friends ask you to help them with?

  • Which skills have helped you make the most money?

For example:

I have an intuitive sense of how to communicate complex ideas in simple ways. And I'm skilled at leveraging technology like AI for business growth.

E - Envision Your Future

Your vision reveals your why.

If you knew you couldn’t fail, what would you focus on, and what impact would you make?

For example:

I would create a world where people from all backgrounds can access the knowledge and tools to build location-independent income streams and fulfilling lives.

A - Assess Your Values

Your values highlight what matters most.

What principles guide your moves?

For example:

Freedom, empowerment, transparency, and leverage guide my decisions and offerings.

M - Mold Your Why

Combine the previous steps into 1-2 sentences that capture your essence and impact only you can make.

For example:

I aim to leverage AI technology to empower overlooked individuals with the skills and mindsets to build location-independent incomes and fulfilled lives.

Then, USE it.

Your audience learns through repetition only.

Every content piece, profile, and website you have is valuable real estate to spread your why.

How to find your “Why”, clarify your business, and get more customers with WhyGPT

WhyGPT is a GPT that I trained to help you find your Why through an interactive journaling exercise.

How it works:

  • You start a conversation with WhyGPT

  • It walks you through the DREAM frameworks

  • Whenever you struggle, it will help you clarify

By using it, you’ll have a mentor that helps you draft your “Why” statement.

Here’s a sample chat of how I use it:

HOW TO USE WHYGPT:

1) Click this link to access WhyGPT

2) Start a conversation by clicking the pre-made prompt

3) Go through the journaling exercise

Pro tip: I love doing exercises like this while walking in the GPT app - simply activate the voice function and have a conversation with WhyGPT

WRAP UP

WHAT YOU LEARNED TODAY
  • Why Starting With "Why" Unlocks Exponential Growth

  • How to discover your why in 5 Minutes with the D.R.E.A.M Framework

  • How to find your “Why”, clarify your business, and get more customers with WhyGPT

Do you know when you must sneeze because you stare into the sun to take a pic?

It happened three times before I could take this shot.

That’s what I call commitment!

Keep diving,

Ole

What did you think about today's edition?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

P.S.

I made over $300,000 in 150 days selling my online course. I’m now creating a course on how to use AI to build and sell a digital product in record time (without being an expert or paying 10k to consultants)

Don’t have an audience yet to sell to?

No problem, my last course will help you create 1 week’s worth of content

in 1 hour using AI and grow your audience.