šŸ™ How to use AI to find your personal monopoly like Naval

escape competition and dominate your market

Read time: 5 minutes | Sponsor this newsletter

Greet from the deep,

Today, weā€™ll dive into how to use ChatGPT to build your very own personal monopoly.

And when I say personal monopoly, Iā€™m not talking about your own Monopoly boardā€¦

ā€¦ but I mean a business no one else can compete with.

If youā€™re the only business in the world to solve 1 specific problem, you donā€™t have any competition.

You create a superniche.

This will give you:

1) Enormous pricing power - because your customers have no alternative

2) High authority - because youā€™re the only expert on the specific thing

Sounds cool? Letā€™s dive in!

You need a system.

Get my EXACT blueprint & Prompt Library that Made Me $285,000 From My Own Course Using Artificial Intelligence

If you want to:

  • Research, Outline, Create, And Launch Your Online Course In 2 Weeks Or Less Using AI

  • Get the exact AI Systems that I used to grow my revenue from 0 to $285,000 in 112 days

  • Save $10,000+ you'd usually need to buy consulting and services to create a top-notch course

How to avoid competition by creating a personal monopoly

ā€œCompetition is for losers!ā€

- my girlfriend screamed at me after I lapped her in Mario Kart.

And sheā€™s right.

Competition is for losers, because it squeezes your market share, your margins, and your profits.

This is where Naval Ravikantā€™s personal monopoly comes in.

His idea is:

ā€œno one can compete with you at being youā€

Youā€™re the best person in the world at being yourself.

Creating your personal monopoly means leveraging your unique personality and knowledge set to create a competition-less market.

And while Naval referred to building a personal knowledge set, you can apply the same logic to business:

Again, if youā€™re the only business in the world to solve 1 specific problem, you donā€™t have any competition.

But how do you differentiate yourself?

3 ways to differentiate yourself and create a personal monopoly

1. Differentiate on who you serve

Specialize to a point where your competition looks generic.

For example, say youā€™re an email copywriter.

There's:

100,000s of email copywriters

10,000s of email copywriters writing for e-commerce stores

1 email copywriter writing welcome sequences for environmentally-conscious, female-oriented e-commerce brands

Who do you think is getting more business opportunities?

Of course, the ultra-specific one, because they have no competition.

Niching down feels scaryā€¦

ā€¦but Iā€™d always rather be 1 of 1, than 1 of 100,000.

2. Differentiate on how you solve the problem

Solve an existing problem in a unique way.

Thereā€™s 1000 ways to solve any problem - but we tend to only see the most conventional one.

You could hire a plumber to fix your broken sinkā€¦

ā€¦or you could buy ramen noodles.

(I canā€™t believe Iā€™m using this as an example)

Educate your audience on why your solution is different (and better) than the regular approach.

For example:

3. Differentiate on why you solve the problem

You can also differentiate yourself by having a unique motive for solving the problem.

For example, clothing brand Patagonia differentiated themselves from millions of other brands by taking a stand for the environment, using recycled materials and sponsoring sustainability initiatives.

Differentiating on your ā€œwhyā€ works best if it is relatable to your customers.

For example:

Apart from making delicious ice cream, Ben & Jerry's stands out through their commitment to social and environmental issues.

They engage in activism and advocacy, use fair trade ingredients, and strive for sustainable business practices, appealing to environmentally-friendly consumers.

3 WAYS TO DIFFERENTIATE YOURSELF
  • Differentiate on who you serve

  • Differentiate on how you solve the problem

  • Differentiate on why you solve the problem

How to use the Magic Monopoly Maker

This ChatGPT prompt applies the principles of personal monopoly creation to your situation:

I need you to suggest "personal monopolies" for me based on my situation.

A personal monopoly is something that:

1) I am uniquely good at
2) Nobody else is doing
3) The market has demand for

4 ways to create a personal monopoly or are:

1) Solving a new problem no one else is solving
2) Solving an existing problem for an ultra-specific target customer
3) Solving an existing problem with a unique mechanism 
4) Solving an existing problem because of a unique motivation

For context, [INSERT CONTEXT]


Now, based on my context, come up with 10 ideas for personal monopolies for me, and for each add one sentence explaining why you see this as an opportunity.
HOW TO USE THE MAGICAL MONOPOLY MAKER PROMPT:
  1. Fill in the [INSERT CONTEXT] placeholder with context about yourself and who you are. (If youā€™ve done the AI Audience Accelerator, write /context to use your pre-written context)

    Example: (this is what I use)

    ā€œI am a solopreneur and I write a publication called "The AI Solopreneur". I post content on Twitter, have a community full of AI-driven solopreneurs, and publish a newsletter twice a week. All my content is made specifically about how Solopreneurs can use AI to streamline their business, work faster, and make more money. Most commonly, I talk about different ways to use ChatGPT, but I also introduce solopreneurs to other helpful AI tools and workflows in them. The goal of my content is to attract as many AI-interested solopreneurs (or aspiring solopreneurs) as possible. I want to be the world's best resource for them. I don't know how to code, but I'm fairly skilled at marketing, writing, and investing. In my past, I was a music ghost producer, cryptocurrency investor, and I also took many educational resources to learn about skills related to solopreneurship. I am a big proponent of psychedelics and have positive experiences with them. I don't take myself too seriously. ā€œ

ChatGPT had some pretty solid advice for my personal monopolies:

PROMPT OVERVIEW: THE MAGIC MONOPOLY MAKER
  • This prompt helps you identify personal monopoly opportunities

  • Give broad and specific context for the best results

  • The output also provides a motivation for each monopoly idea

Wrap up

WHAT YOU LEARNED TODAY
  • How to avoid competition by creating a personal monopoly

  • 3 ways to differentiate yourself and create a personal monopoly

  • How to use the Magic Monopoly Maker to find your personal monopoly

Some of you might know, Iā€™m a big fan of ice cubes in my beer. So if this AI thing doesnā€™t turn out as expected, Iā€™ll still have my plan B that includes a beer with ice cubes monopolyā€¦.

See you on Wednesday,

Ole

What did you think about today's edition?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

P.S.

ā€¢ Grow your X & LinkedIn

ā€¢ Generate infinite viral content ideas

ā€¢ Automate long-form content writing

These are the systems I used to scale to 130K+ followers & $275K+ in revenue.